New York Legislature Names Initial Members to Crypto Task Force

The 6 named members of the state's Digital Currency Taskforce will assist in determining how to regulate, define, and use cryptocurrencies.

AccessTimeIconJul 23, 2019 at 8:43 p.m. UTC
Updated Sep 13, 2021 at 11:13 a.m. UTC

The New York State legislature has selected six representatives from the blockchain and cryptocurrency industry to join its Digital Currency Taskforce, first formed in January.

Revealed in a video announcement Monday, Assemblymember Clyde Vanel announced the legislature has selected three chief executives from blockchain startups, two members of industry think tanks, and a regulatory expert in the field.

will advise the state on how to “regulate, define and use” cryptocurrencies and prepare reports on the state of the crypto industry for December 15, 2020.

Members include ConsenSys founder Joseph Lubin, Global Blockchain Business Council CEO Sandra Ro, adjunct fellow at the foundation for Defense of Democracies Yaya Fanusie, co-founder of Blockchain @ Microsoft York Rhodes, director of regulatory relations a Ripple Ryan Zagone, and professor of law at Cardozo School of Law Aaron Wright.

"We're excited that we're going to have some of the premier people in blockchain technology and in cryptocurrency to help guide New York State and the country – and maybe the world – on our finding the right level of regulations," said Vanel.

When the task force was first proposed, Governor Cuomo said at the time he believed the technology could be used for state elections, record-keeping and real estate transactions. The unit will also examine the energy costs of crypto mining and the digital assets impact on tax collection.

Though selected, members still need to go before the house legislature and the Governor for confirmation, according to Vanel. The remaining seven task force members will be selected by Governor Cuomo.

The announcement received some backlash on social media, including from those that oppose a regulatory unit comprised of corporate actors.

Preston Byrne, an attorney that specializes in technology upstarts and cryptographic firms, said:

Yaya Fanusie via CoinDesk archives


Please note that our privacy policy, terms of use, cookies, and do not sell my personal information has been updated.

CoinDesk is an award-winning media outlet that covers the cryptocurrency industry. Its journalists abide by a strict set of editorial policies. In November 2023, CoinDesk was acquired by the Bullish group, owner of Bullish, a regulated, digital assets exchange. The Bullish group is majority-owned by; both companies have interests in a variety of blockchain and digital asset businesses and significant holdings of digital assets, including bitcoin. CoinDesk operates as an independent subsidiary with an editorial committee to protect journalistic independence. CoinDesk employees, including journalists, may receive options in the Bullish group as part of their compensation.