Marc Andreessen, Satoshi Nakamoto Take Top Honors at Inaugural Blockchain Awards

Day one of Bitcoin2014 wrapped up with Blockchain Awards, we reveal the big winners.

AccessTimeIconMay 16, 2014 at 6:50 p.m. UTC
Updated Apr 10, 2024 at 2:59 a.m. UTC

Day one of the Bitcoin2014 conference in Amsterdam wrapped up with the inaugural Blockchain Awards. Hosts Nicolas Cary from and Peter Vessenes from the Bitcoin Foundation announced the winners in 10 categories.

Matthew Kenahan from The Bitcoin Society picked up two awards: one for the Most Impactful Charity and another one for the Bitcoin Champion. Andreas Antonopoulos originally won the latter, but passed on the award to Kenahan.

The Bitcoin Society is dedicated to sharing and spreading information, education and awareness of bitcoin via guerrilla marketing, television media, billboards and the bitcoin community. It plans to add more content to its website that will be useful to newcomers in the bitcoin space over the next few weeks, and a global campaign in the months following to make sure everyone in the world has some familiarity with bitcoin.

Kenahan said he would donate all of his award money to the Women's Annex Foundation.

Gavin Andresen was the crowd-pleaser of the evening, as he disguised himself to accept the award for best Visionary Academic Paper on Satoshi Nakamoto's behalf, garnering laughs from the audience. Check out his get up!

 We found Satoshi… not! That's Gavin Andresen dressed as Satoshi to receive the award for best Visionary Academic Paper
We found Satoshi… not! That's Gavin Andresen dressed as Satoshi to receive the award for best Visionary Academic Paper

The award-winners are:

  • Most Impactful Charity: The Bitcoin Society
  • Most Creative Video: I am Satoshi
  • Most Informative Podcast: Let’s Talk Bitcoin
  • Most Influential Investor: Marc Andreessen
  • Best ATM Design: Lamassu BTC
  • Most Insightful Journalist: Ryan Selkis
  • Best Mobile App: Mycelium (Megion) Android Wallet
  • Bitcoin Legal Expert: Marco Santori
  • Visionary Academic Paper: Satoshi Nakamoto
  • Bitcoin Champion: Matthew Kenahan
 The winners of the first annual Blockchain Awards
The winners of the first annual Blockchain Awards

The Blockchain Awards are a joint brainchild of and the Bitcoin Foundation. In an online voting process, people from around the world nominated folks in all 10 categories. Voting stayed open about three weeks.

“We wanted to celebrate accomplishments and visions of both companies and individuals,” Vessenes said in the opening address.

Tonight’s Blockchain Awards were also sponsored in part by Gridseed.


Please note that our privacy policy, terms of use, cookies, and do not sell my personal information has been updated.

CoinDesk is an award-winning media outlet that covers the cryptocurrency industry. Its journalists abide by a strict set of editorial policies. In November 2023, CoinDesk was acquired by the Bullish group, owner of Bullish, a regulated, digital assets exchange. The Bullish group is majority-owned by; both companies have interests in a variety of blockchain and digital asset businesses and significant holdings of digital assets, including bitcoin. CoinDesk operates as an independent subsidiary with an editorial committee to protect journalistic independence. CoinDesk employees, including journalists, may receive options in the Bullish group as part of their compensation.