Bitcoin Price Index (24h)

Last updated on Feb 21, 2017 at 05:12 GMT. Based on the following values:

USD
Bitstamp $1,079.52
OKCoin $1,073.61
Coinbase $1,088.83
itBit $1,080.44
CNY
BTC China ¥7,259.75
OKCoin ¥7,297.50

USD -0.24%

$1,080.60

CNY 11.18%

¥7,278.63

EUR

€1,021.25

GBP

£868.39

About CoinDesk

CoinDesk is the world leader in news and information on digital currencies such as bitcoin, and its underlying technology – the blockchain.

We cover news and analysis on the trends, price movements, technologies, companies and people in the bitcoin and digital currency world.

Our per-minute Bitcoin Price Index, a derived measure of bitcoin's value based on an agreed set of criteria, also serves as a point of reference for those involved in the bitcoin industry.

If you're new to bitcoin, read our straightforward guides on the basics of what bitcoin is, why people use it, where to buy bitcoins and how to spend them. We also explain the basics of bitcoin mining, how to set up a bitcoin miner, and how bitcoin transactions work.

Digital currency is a rapidly evolving industry and we believe one of the biggest developments in internet history in the making.

There are bitcoin exchanges, merchants accepting and promoting bitcoin, investors, traders, startups and developers all contributing to the ecosystem. There are also regulatory bodies all over the world trying to understand more about bitcoin, take a stance on it and assign guidelines to companies trading in or otherwise involved with bitcoin.

We strive to cover news accurately, fairly, objectively and responsibly. Obtaining original comment, corroborating information from other sources, and showcasing original opinion are fundamental to this. View our editorial policy here.

CoinDesk is an independent publication with reporters all over the world. If you're interested in writing for us, whether as a freelancer or occasional contributor, get in touch or check out our Jobs page.

If you have a question or a story, send us a tipContact us for anything else.

Our Team

Ryan SelkisRyan Selkis

Managing Director

@twobitidiot

ryan@coindesk.com

 

 

Peter BordesPeter Bordes

Vice President, Sales

@entrylevelvp

bordes@coindesk.com

 

Michael del CastilloMichael del Castillo

Journalist

@DelRayMan

michael@coindesk.com

 

Stan HigginsStan Higgins

Journalist

 

stan@coindesk.com

 

12440236_10209579437830957_4310029011663421617_oAlyssa Hertig

Journalist

@AlyssaHertig

alyssa@coindesk.com

 

headshot (1)Pete Rizzo

Editor

@pete_rizzo_

pete@coindesk.com

 

Dasha SukovatitsynDasha Sukovatitsyn

Operations

dasha@coindesk.com

 

 

jacobJacob Cohen Donnelly 

Director, Marketing

@JayCoDon

jacob@coindesk.com

 

Alex Sunnarborg

Research Analyst

alex@coindesk.com

 

 

Patrick Archambeau

Software Engineer

patrick@coindesk.com

 

 

Pieter Gorsira

Software Engineer

pieter@coindesk.com